Welcome to Wydaho

This adventure has a new backdrop – Wydaho (the area of Idaho in Teton Valley that’s still a part of the Jackson Micropolitan Area). So far I love my new home! Victor and Driggs make up the modern towns in what used to be called Pierre’s Hole. Apparently named after a Hudson’s Bay Company fur trader in the early 1800s, Teton Valley used to be the site of huge Rendezvous’ between Native American and “mountain man” fur trappers and traders. Because many of the mountain men were of French-Canadian descent, many places around here still bear French names (Tetons for one!).

Eventually beaver-pelt hats went out of fashion and the Homestead Act of 1862 drew hardworking families out west to settle, farm, and ranch – giving rise to still-remaining communities. On a bike-ride I stumbled across the Victor Cemetery, which contains graves dating back to the 1830’s! I noticed one very prominent family name there from the 1800’s – Woolstenhulme – and later that day had an email in my inbox from a modern descendant (I’m guessing) who works for the school board. How cool is that! Okay, enough history.

DSC_0165
Is that Pierre?
Victor
Still not sure how I feel about that town slogan…

Town life is absolutely wonderful. Victor makes Jackson feel like New York City (quite the feat). The weather has been wonderfully warm still, as aspen begin to gild the surrounding mountainsides. I’ve been riding my bike (or Chris’ longboard) almost everywhere. Within biking distance of my house are the Emporium’s shakes, Victor Valley Market (fresh, local produce), Jess’ house at the Teton Valley Community School, the Post Office, Grand Teton Brewing, and Wildlife Brewing (two breweries!!). I hope the snow stays away so I can keep this up without freezing!

The Emporium
The Emporium
DSC_0172
Possibly Cody Peak. Being on the backside of a normal fault means a much more sloping view than what I had in Kelly.
DSC_0174
Idaho backyard: double-decker hammocks, a picnic table, covered patio, and some stumps

Leave a comment