Sightings

Spring is in full tilt in Teton Valley! With the migrants back, I’ve been able to spot a lot of returning avian amigos feeding and nesting. My backyard abuts National Forest, and last week I spotted a pair of Red-Naped Sapsuckers that had settled down in a broken aspen snag right behind my house! I’m excited to watch them over the summer and see if they produce any fledglings.

DSC_0006

Returning for another year is our resident Swainson’s Hawk, Wayne. If it’s not the same hawk as last year, there’s a good chance it’s one of it’s progeny – roaming the same territory it learned from it’s parents.

DSC_0014

Roaming the potato fields once more are Sandhill Cranes. Their signature call bugles across the creek and low marshy areas every morning.

DSC_0060

My hummingbird feeder has also started to see some action! We’ve gotten Calliope, Broad-Tailed, and possible Rufous Hummingbirds. I think this is a picture of a female Calliope, but female hummingbirds are a little difficult to I.D.

DSC_0064

For a couple weeks I’ve seen cars pulled over to look at a huge nest right on the side of the highway. I stopped the other day and it turned out to be a Great Horned Owl and it’s nestling! I can’t believe they chose to nest so close to the road and Driggs where they’re fully visible in the daytime, but an already-nest is a pretty good score I guess!

DSC_0077

Leave a Reply

